Hospital awards $125,000 in grants to local agencies

By on August 24, 2018

Jennifer Schwartzenberg, Outer Banks Hospital’s director of Community Outreach & Development (far right), and Richard Bruce, chair of the Community Benefit Grants Committee (top left), are joined by representatives of some of the organizations that will benefit from the grant program.

The Outer Banks Hospital has announced the recipients of the 2018-2019 Community Benefit Grant Program.

Grants are awarded for projects that will significantly increase access to healthcare in our community for nearly 4,200 individuals in need.

The grants total $125,000.

Recipients of the grants, along with the services they provide, are listed below:

  • Beach Food Pantry – Access to nutritious meals and snacks throughout the year for Dare County children
  • Community Care Clinic of Dare – Medical care for uninsured/low income patients
  • Dare County Health Department – Prenatal ultrasounds and Breast Cancer diagnostics
  • Dare County Transportation – Transportation of patients to medical care appointments
  • Hatteras Island Cancer Foundation – Medical assistance for Hatteras Island cancer patients
  • Hyde County Non-Profit Private Transportation Corporation – Transportation of patients to medical care appointments on the Outer Banks
  • Interfaith Community Outreach – Medical assistance and crisis intervention
  • NC MedAssist – Free pharmacy services shipped directly to patients’ homes

Funds are provided by Vidant Health, with support from Chesapeake Regional Healthcare and The Outer Banks Hospital’s Development Council. Since 2006, The Outer Banks Hospital has granted more than $1.4 million to organizations. More than $1.1 million of those funds has come from Vidant Health.

Pictured above (left to right) are Kahla Hall, Vidant Health Foundation; Richard Bruce, chair, Community Benefit Grants Committee; Jean Freeman, Interfaith Community Outreach; Elisabeth Silverthorne, Beach Food Pantry; Tami Montiel, Community Care Clinic of Dare; Beverly Paul, Hyde County Non-Profit Private Transportation Corporation; Jenniffer Albanese, Interfaith Community Outreach; Debbie Dutton, Dare County Health Department; Kristin Young, NC MedAssist, and Jennifer Schwartzenberg, The Outer Banks Hospital.




Comments are closed.