By Outer Banks Voice on October 3, 2018
After spending the last two years in exile, the replica of the 1903 Wright Flyer returned to home on Wednesday to the Flight Room of the Wright Brothers National Memorial Visitors Center.
The flyer was removed in the winter of 2016 to allow a $5.8 million rehabilitation project, led by Group III Management from Kinston, started in the winter of 2016. The work has brought the building back to the way it appeared when it opened in 1960 — orange trim, concrete and all.
Hurricane Florence delayed the reopening by a month, and it will take place on Saturday, Oct. 20, according to the National Park Service, which operates the memorial in Kill Devil Hills.
It was so exciting to see the replica 1903 Wright Flyer unloaded and returned to the Flight Room this morning.
We can't wait to welcome visitors back to the visitor center on October 20th! pic.twitter.com/Jp6SVomOZY
— Wright Brothers National Memorial (@WrightBrosNPS) October 3, 2018
The flyer spent about a year on display at the N.C. Museum of History in downtown Raleigh during the renovations.
It was then transported to the National Park Service’s Harpers Ferry Center for Interpretive Media in West Virginia for conservation work.
After a brief stay at The Wright Experience in northern Virginia, the flyer was trucked to the Outer Banks and placed back in the room that offers a panoramic view of the location of the First Flight and the memorial that sits atop Big Kill Devil Hills.
The National Historic Landmark that opened in 1960 will offer a state-of-the-art interactive experience for the more than 500,000 people that visit each year.