In-person early voting begins Wednesday in North Carolina

By on October 16, 2018

In-person early voting for the 2018 general election begins Wednesday, Oct. 17 for North Carolina voters.

Statewide, more than 300 early voting sites will offer approximately 50,000 combined hours of voting through Saturday, Nov. 3. Election Day is Nov. 6.

The 18-day early voting period allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person at any early voting site in their county.

Early voting also offers “same-day registration,” allowing individuals eligible to vote who aren’t yet registered to register and vote at the same time. The regular voter registration deadline has passed.

Same-day registrants must complete a voter registration application and show an election official proof of their address. “Proof of address” documents include a North Carolina driver license or other government-issued photo ID, or a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check or other government document showing the voter’s name and address. Also acceptable is a document issued by a college/university showing the student’s name and on-campus housing address.

To avoid long lines, voters should keep in mind that the busiest early voting days typically are the first and last days. Voters and those registering must be 18 years old by Election Day, have lived in the county where they are registering for at least 30 days and can provide proof of identity and residence.

In Dare County, one-stop absentee (early) voting will be available at the following locations:

  • Dare County Administration Building, 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo
  • Kill Devil Hills Town Hall, 102 Town Hall Drive, Kill Devil Hills
  • Fessenden Center Annex on Hatteras Island, 47017 Buxton Back Road, Buxton

The Pitts Center in Southern Shores will not be open for early voting for the 2018 General Election.

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 17 to 19, Oct. 22 to 26 and Oct. 29 to Nov. 2. On Oct. 28, all sites will be open from noon to 4 p.m. On Nov. 3, sites will be open from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

In Currituck County, early voting hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday until Nov. 2 at the Board of Elections Office. Early voting will also be available Saturday, Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.