Candidates set for fall municipal elections

By on July 20, 2019

With the deadline for filing candidate papers over as of July 19, at least one municipal election result can already be reported. Manteo Mayor Bobby Owens, who defeated incumbent Jamie Daniels in 2017, will be returned to that post after no one emerged to challenge him this year.

The roster of citizens running in the six non-partisan municipal elections to be held in Dare County on November 5 reveals that 31 candidates will vie for 19 available positions.

The most crowded ballot will be in Duck, where nine candidates are running for the five-member town council, including all five incumbents. The lightest action will be in Kitty Hawk, where two candidates, already assured of victory, are in the mix for the two seats in play.

The 2019 municipal election landscape is also notable for incumbents who will not be on the ballot. In Kill Devil Hills, Mayor Sheila Davies has declined to run for re-election, as has Mayor Pro Tem Mike Hogan. In Kitty Hawk, Tina Tice, who was appointed last December to replace newly elected Dare County Commissioner Ervin Bateman, did not file to run again. And in Nags Head, Mayor Pro Tem Susie Walters has chosen not to seek re-election.

In Southern Shores, where politics tend to be passionate and sometimes pugnacious, two of the three town council members who were elected in a 2015 election that swept out three incumbents, have chosen not to run again.

Those retiring incumbents are Mayor Pro Tem Chris Nason and Council Member and former mayoral candidate Gary McDonald. McDonald had initially filed to run for re-election, but his name did not appear on the final list of candidates.  Conversely, Leo Holland, a former council member who declined not to run again in 2017, has thrown his hat in the ring for this fall’s race.

While there’s no mayoral race in Manteo, an interesting one is shaping up in the battle to succeed Davies in Kill Devil Hills. It features Dare County Board of Education Member Ben Sproul, Anne Petera, who ran unsuccessfully for Dare County Commissioner in 2018 and Ron Wright, who lost two previous mayoral races to Davies.

The other mayor whose term is up this fall is Duck incumbent Don Kingston. But unlike Kill Devil Hills and Manteo where the voters choose the mayor, the mayor in Duck is selected by a vote of the other members of the town council.

Here is a full list of the names of candidates running in municipal elections in Dare County this fall.

List of candidates
by town

Donald P. Kingston Nancy Caviness
Rob Mooney
Chuck Burdick
Monica Thibodeau
Sandy Whitman
Ben Vorndran
Jonathan Britt
Marc Murray

Ben Sproul
Anne Petera
Ron Wright

Ivy Ingram
Bernard (BJ) McAvoy
Nelson V. (Skip) Jones, Jr.
T. Dillon Heikens

David Hines
Lynne McClean

Bobby Owens

Hannon Fry
Nancy Peele
Darrell Collins
Betty Govan Selby
Jason Borland

Kevin Brinkley
Renee Cahoon
Keith Sawyer

Fred Newberry
Elizabeth Morey
Leo Holland
Matthew Neal

Dare County Animal Shelter

Sealed bids for completion of the Dare County Animal Shelter will be received on February 11, 2020, in Dare County Administration Building, 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo, NC, for 01-Fencing, 03- Concrete, 04-Masonry, 05-Metals/ Steel, 06-Casework, 07-Roofing, 07-Caulking, 08-Glass and Glazing, 08-Doors, Frames and Hardware, 08-Overhead Doors, 09-Drywall, 09-Flooring, 09-Painting, 10- Specialties, 12- Furnishings, 21-Fire Protection, 23-Mechanical & Plumbing, 26-Electrical, 31-Sitework and 32-Landscaping.

This project will be bid and awarded in accordance with North Carolina law. Sealed proposals from Contractors will be received until 1:00 p.m. All bidders must submit for prequalification by 2:00pm on 1/24/2020. Bids submitted by non-prequalified bidders will not be considered. All bids will be opened and read aloud starting at 2:00 p.m. of the bid day. Bids must be delivered in person and on the supplied Bid Form and include a bid deposit worth 5% of the total bid value. Electronic and faxed bids will NOT be accepted or reviewed. All times are local prevailing times.

Information requests concerning the project shall be submitted in writing to: Alex Palagyi of The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company via email (

Bidding material, prequalification material, and complete plans and specifications may be obtained from theWhiting-Turner Building Connected site and will be available until the bid due date. All subcontractors are responsible for emailing Alex Palagyi (alex.palagyi@ for access to the Building Connected site.

The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company and Dare County reserve the right to reject any and all bids, waive informalities and irregularities in bidding, and to accept bids which are considered to be in the best interest of the County. The Whiting Turner Contracting Company and Dare County also reserve the right to require any bidder to submit information needed to determine if said bidder is responsible within the meaning of N.C. Gen. Stat. 143-129.


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.