Unrestricted access to all Dare County begins Thursday

By on September 11, 2019

There is currently unrestricted access to the communities north of Oregon Inlet. On Hatteras Island, there is unrestricted access to the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, and the northern areas of Buxton. And beginning at noon on Thursday, Sept. 12, there will also be unrestricted access to the villages of Frisco and Hatteras Village, meaning that all of Dare County will be open to visitors.

Storm Debris: Dare County Public Works staff will begin debris removal on Monday, Sept. 16 inside the gate at Colington Harbor. Homeowners in these areas are asked to place all debris in right-of-way by 6 a.m. Monday morning as the County only has resources available to make one pass through each neighborhood. Upon completion of debris removal in Colington Harbor, staff will begin working in Martin’s Point. Storm debris removal in Martin’s Point is anticipated to begin Thursday, Sept. 19 but this date is subject to change. A schedule for other areas of unincorporated Dare County will be released as soon as details are finalized.

Storm related debris should be placed into four separate piles onto the right-of-way at least 30 feet from fire hydrants. 

  • Vegetative Debris (limbs, leaves, branches, sea grass, etc.) DO NOT BAG!
  • Construction and Demolition Materials (building materials, concrete, shingles, etc.)
  • Metal (appliances)
  • Household Hazardous Waste and Electronics (oil, bleach toilet cleaner, televisions, computers, etc.)

Large items such as cars, boats, trailers, and campers will be not be accepted and must be disposed of by the owner.

National Park Service, Outer Banks Group:  Fort Raleigh National Historic Site and Wright Brothers National Memorial are open.  Please check the Cape Hatteras National Seashore website, Facebook page or Twitter to find out what areas are open to visitors.


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.