Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year!

By on September 26, 2019

Superintendent John Farrelly, Board of Education Chairman Bea Basnight and Cape Hatteras Secondary Principal Beth Rooks join for a photo with District Teacher of the Year, Justin Paxton.

Dare County Schools hosted the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet on Wednesday, September 25 at Pamlico Jack’s in Nags Head. Each of the eleven schools selects a teacher to serve as the Teacher of the Year. Out of those eleven teachers, a district committee conducts interviews and selects one teacher to represent the district in the upcoming regional and state competitions.  Cape Hatteras Secondary School Art Teacher, Justin Paxton was selected to serve as this year’s District Teacher of the Year. Justin’s community mural art project has inspired many students, teachers, and business leaders to get involved in the Hatteras community.



From back to front and left to right: Third row: Ann Ball (KHES), Patricia Decker (CHE), Corinne West (FFES), Second row: Justin Paxton (CHSS), Amy Gross (NHES), Charlotte Hester (MES), First row: Lauren Deal (FFHS), Raleigh Hudock (MHS), Dawn Tillett (DLA), Teresa Edwards (MMS)

2019-2020 Teachers of the Year for Dare County Schools:

First Flight Middle School: Solomon Dixon
Manteo High School: Raleigh Hudock
Cape Hatteras Elementary Che Connects: Patricia Decker
Nags Head Elementary: Amy Gross
Manteo Middle School: Teresa Edwards
Kitty Hawk Elementary School: Ann Ball
First Flight High Official Fan Page: Lauren Deal
Manteo Elementary School: Charlotte Hester
Cape Hatteras Secondary School: Justin Paxton
First Flight Elementary School: Corinne West
Dare Learning Academy: Dawn Tillett


The banquet was made possible through generous contributions from Towne Bank, the Dare Education Foundation, and Horace Mann Insurance.

The Board of Education provided each teacher with the following:

  • A replica of an antique brass school bell including a personalized inscription of the teacher’s name and school,
  • A flower arrangement,
  • A stipend of $150. The District Teacher of the Year receives a $500 stipend.
  • The District Teacher of the Year also will attend a weeklong session at North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching (NCCAT) and $250 for use in their classroom funded by Dare County Board of Education’s contribution to the NCCAT scholarship program.

Additionally, the Dare Education Foundation provided each teacher with a $100 award. The Foundation provided the District Teacher of the Year a $1000 professional development opportunity.


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.