Feds approve N.C. request for disaster declaration

By on October 4, 2019

On Friday, Oct. 4, President Donald Trump approved North Carolina’s request for a major disaster declaration for Public Assistance for the following counties impacted by Hurricane Dorian: Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington.

The major disaster declaration allows impacted counties to receive support from FEMA’s Public Assistance program, providing reimbursement to local governments for costs of debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities. Certain private non-profit organizations can also be eligible for reimbursement.

“North Carolina’s coastal communities – particularly Ocracoke and those on the Outer Banks – were hit hard by Hurricane Dorian and it’s critical that they have access to FEMA Public Assistance and the federal resources necessary to recover. This is a positive step and we continue to urge our federal partners and North Carolina’s congressional delegation to work to expedite approval of our request for Individual Assistance for families whose homes were destroyed as well,” said Governor Cooper.

North Carolina requested Public Assistance on September 13th. On September 21st, Cooper also requested a major disaster declaration for Individual Assistance, which if approved, would provide grants to residents who suffered damages from Dorian, and could open the door to additional FEMA recovery programs, like temporary housing.

The individual assistance request remains under review and state officials have urged federal agencies and North Carolina’s congressional delegation to work to expedite federal approval.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.