Early voting in effect for Nov. 5 election

By on October 18, 2019

Early voting hours for the Nov. 5, 2019 municipal elections in Dare County went into effect this week and will continue until Friday, Nov. 1.

At the Dare County Administration Building, located at 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive in Manteo, there is early voting on Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., beginning on Oct. 16 and running through Nov. 1. There is also early voting on Saturday, Oct. 19 from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. The same schedule is in effect at the Kill Devil Hills Town Hall,located at 102 Town Hall Drive in Kill Devil Hills.

There are contested races for mayor and/or town council member or town commissioner in five of the six Dare County municipalities on Nov. 5 — with the exception being Kitty Hawk, where two candidates are running for two seats on the town council.

There was also something of a battle over early voting hours in this fall’s elections after the other four members of the Dare County Board of Elections, and its chairperson Sandy Semans Ross, proposed different early voting plans. But after an Aug, 23 hearing on the matter, the North Carolina Board of Elections voted 4-1 on the compromise schedule that is now in effect, a decision that tilted toward Ross’ idea of extended early voting hours.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.