Congrats to the 2019 Currituck Chamber Small Business Awards Winners!

By on October 26, 2019

The Small Business of the Year award is given annually to the small business who has demonstrated excellent entrepreneurial accomplishments through excellent business practices, customer service, and community involvement. 

The Presidents’ Award – The president of the Currituck Chamber of Commerce presents this award to an individual or group that has made a positive contribution to the Chamber, the Currituck community and area businesses. Since the honoree is chosen at the Chamber president’s discretion, receiving this award is a meaningful and respected privilege.

Pictured from right to left

First row:  Maeve Haynes, CEO CINIVA (Presidents Award), Keiko Chibana-Shinn Peaceful Water Counseling & Wellness Center (Small Business of the Year under 10 employees), Toi Grahm – Peaceful Waters Counseling & Wellness Center, Eldon Miller (Citizen of the Year), Louise Harrell, Owner Southland (Small Business of the Year over 10 Employees), Kristine Ruyle, Greg Sloan Owners of Kris’ Corolla Creations (Presidents Award).

SECOND Row: Rachel Christian CINIVA, Bill Blake Executive Director, Albemarle Area United Way (Non-Profit of the Year),Molly Garavito Marketing Director  H2OBX Waterpark, Tanja Santiago Peaceful Waters Counseling & Wellness Center, Derek Mason, Director of Sales Outer Banks, NC JAM Media Solutions,  (Presidents Award), Lynn Davis, Marketing Consultant, JAM Media Solutions (Presidents Award), Anthony Collie, Owner Beach House Flooring & Tile Co. (Most Attractive Business), Damian Dondero, General Manager H2OBX Waterpark (Most attractive Business), Kaylee Burns, Owner Peaceful Waters Counseling & Wellness Center (Small Business of the year under 10 Employees), Robert Stamey Owner A Better Way Realty – The Robert Stamey Team (Corporate Community Service Award) Barbara Stamey.

Dare County Animal Shelter

Sealed bids for completion of the Dare County Animal Shelter will be received on February 11, 2020, in Dare County Administration Building, 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo, NC, for 01-Fencing, 03- Concrete, 04-Masonry, 05-Metals/ Steel, 06-Casework, 07-Roofing, 07-Caulking, 08-Glass and Glazing, 08-Doors, Frames and Hardware, 08-Overhead Doors, 09-Drywall, 09-Flooring, 09-Painting, 10- Specialties, 12- Furnishings, 21-Fire Protection, 23-Mechanical & Plumbing, 26-Electrical, 31-Sitework and 32-Landscaping.

This project will be bid and awarded in accordance with North Carolina law. Sealed proposals from Contractors will be received until 1:00 p.m. All bidders must submit for prequalification by 2:00pm on 1/24/2020. Bids submitted by non-prequalified bidders will not be considered. All bids will be opened and read aloud starting at 2:00 p.m. of the bid day. Bids must be delivered in person and on the supplied Bid Form and include a bid deposit worth 5% of the total bid value. Electronic and faxed bids will NOT be accepted or reviewed. All times are local prevailing times.

Information requests concerning the project shall be submitted in writing to: Alex Palagyi of The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company via email (

Bidding material, prequalification material, and complete plans and specifications may be obtained from theWhiting-Turner Building Connected site and will be available until the bid due date. All subcontractors are responsible for emailing Alex Palagyi (alex.palagyi@ for access to the Building Connected site.

The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company and Dare County reserve the right to reject any and all bids, waive informalities and irregularities in bidding, and to accept bids which are considered to be in the best interest of the County. The Whiting Turner Contracting Company and Dare County also reserve the right to require any bidder to submit information needed to determine if said bidder is responsible within the meaning of N.C. Gen. Stat. 143-129.


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.