Commissioner, Ed Board incumbents seek re-election

By on December 5, 2019


Several 2020 GOP primary battles already shaping up

Yes, it’s true that the 2019 local election season ended just one month ago. But the filing period for candidates running for in the 2020 presidential election year began on Monday Dec. 2, and the Dare County ballot is getting filled up.

For starters, the incumbents in local and state house races have already filed to run for re-election. That includes Republican District 1 State Senator Bob Steinberg, serving his first term in that post, and District 6 State Representative Bobby Hanig, a Republican also serving his first term in that job.

There is a GOP primary shaping up for that seat, since Kill Devil Hills resident Rob Rollason has filed to challenge Hanig. On his facebook page, Rollason describes himself as a “Conservative Patriot.”

Four seats on the seven-member Dare County Board of Commissioners are in play in 2020 and all four incumbents have already filed – Republicans Wally Overman (District 1), Bob Woodard (District 2) and Steve House (District 3) as well as Democrat Danny Couch (District 4).

There is also a challenger for House in the District 3 Republican primary, Kitty Hawk resident Paul Wright, who says he represents a new, anti-establishment Republican Party.

There are also four members of the seven-person Dare County Board of Education whose terms are up in 2020, including Ben Sproul, who is stepping down from that body after being elected Mayor of Kill Devil Hills in November.

Incumbents David Twiddy (At-large), Bea Basnight (District 1) and Mary Ellon Balance (District 4) have filed to run for their seats again. And Jen Alexander, who ran a spirited, but unsuccessful school board race last year, has filed for the District 2 seat being vacated by Sproul.

The filing deadline ends on Dec. 20, by which time there will be likely more competitive races in the offing.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.