Currituck-Dare Community Foundation and Currituck-Dare Women’s Fund award more than $39,000 in local grants

By on January 16, 2020


Pictured (left to right) are grantees and board members at the grant awards ceremony of the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation and Currituck-Dare Women’s Fund. Pictured (first row) are: Sara Hallas, NC Coastal Federation; Nancy Griffin, Children & Youth Partnership for Dare County and OBX Room in the Inn; Bill Henkel, Lower Currituck Food Pantry; Laura Rollison, Meals on Wheels; Nina Foster, CDCF board member; Ruth McCulloch, Autism Society; and Kathy Baldwin, OBX Storm. Pictured (second row) are: Cynthia Jarvis, CDCF board member; Di Small, CDCF board member; Elizabeth Siverthorne, Beach Food Pantry; Chris Swain, Dare County Arts Council; Rhonda Morris, Kids First; Courtney Cottrell, Albemarle Hopeline; Mike Tidd, Hatteras Island Meals; Bobby Murray, Food For Thought; Margie Blassey, OBTA; Mary Bonsall, OBTA; Janet Colegrove, CDCF board member; Ginger Webster, CDCF board member; Liz Jennings, Hotline; Tina Pennington, The Beloved Haven; Jane Oden, CDCF board member and Loismary Hoehne, CDCF board president. 

Loismary Hoehne, CDCF board president and CDWF co-chair, thanked the community for its continued support of the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation. “We are proud to support these nonprofit programs that are so vital to the community,” she said.

“We are grateful to the many generous individuals, businesses and organizations that have supported our work to inspire philanthropy across our community,” said Janet Colegrove, CDWF co-chair.


This year the groups granted:

  • $3,500 to the Albemarle Commission Senior Nutrition Program for Meals on Wheels in Currituck and Dare counties
  • $2,000 to Albemarle Hopeline for general operating support
  • $1,000 to the Autism Society of North Carolina for Autism Resources Specialists in Currituck and Dare Counties
  • $1,000 to the Children & Youth Partnership for Dare for the Explore to Learn Playgroup program
  • $1,000 to the Dare County Arts Council, Inc. for the Power of Art program
  • $4,500 to Food for Thought Inc. for general operating support
  • $3,000 to Hatteras Island Meals Inc. for general operating support
  • $2,500 to Kids First, Inc. for the accredited child abuse treatment and prevention program in Currituck and Dare counties
  • $5,500 to the Lower Currituck Food Pantry for general operating support
  • $1,000 to the MANE & TAILL Therapeutic Horsemanship Academy for the Individuals with Disabilities Teach Trust program
  • $1,000 to the North Carolina Coastal Federation for the Environmental Enrichment Learning program
  • $2,500 to the OBX Room In The Inn for help for Dare County homeless
  • $1,500 to the Outer Banks Hotline for the Safe House bedroom rejuvenation project
  • $700 to the Outer Banks Hotline for linens for survivors
  • $500 to the Outer Banks Tennis Association for new women and junior support and recognition
  • $1,000 to Prevent Blindness North Carolina for Currituck-Dare Star Pupils
  • $3,000 to The Beloved Haven for general operating support
  • $3,000 to The OBX Storm for general operating support
  • $500 to The OBX SPCA for general operating support
  • $500 to The Beach Food Pantry for general operating support

For further information, contact NCCF Regional Director Natalie Jenkins Peel at (252) 562-9824 or or visit the NCCF website at

About the Currituck-Dare Women’s Fund

The Currituck-Dare Women’s Fund is a program of the North Carolina Community Foundation designed to maximize women’s leadership in philanthropy by engaging and educating its membership, increasing charitable contributions and strengthening communities through the impact of collective giving. The annual grant focus is on women and children in Currituck and Dare counties.

About the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation

An affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation, the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation is a growing family of philanthropic funds, source of grants for local causes and partner for donors. The CDCF was founded in 1999 and is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of Currituck and Dare counties.

The CDCF board advises the Currituck-Dare Community Fund, the unrestricted community grantmaking fund, to support local needs. The competitive grants program is held on an annual basis. Advisory board members live and work in Currituck and Dare counties, positioning them to strategically leverage resources, meet local needs and access opportunities. In addition to Hoehne, board members include: Jane Oden (vice president), Di Small (secretary and treasurer), Janet Colegrove, Sheila Davies, Nina Foster, Scott Foster, Cynthia Jarvis, Sophie Jordan, Daniel La Rue, Vickie Smith Moore, Hannah Robinson, Daria Teutonico and Ginger Webster.

The Currituck-Dare Community Foundation, through the NC Community Foundation, makes it easy to become a philanthropist, whatever your means or charitable goals. You can open an endowment for your favorite cause at any time – or contribute to an existing fund in any amount. Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to Currituck-Dare Community Foundation, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at

About the North Carolina Community Foundation

The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $161 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $284 million in assets, NCCF sustains more than 1,300 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels. For more information, visit





Comments are closed.