U.S.D.A. offers emergency loans for Dorian losses

By on January 25, 2020

(U.S. Department of Agriculture)

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced late last week that Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated 14 North Carolina counties as primary natural disaster areas.

Producers in Beaufort, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Dare, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Martin, Onslow, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties who suffered losses caused by Hurricane Dorian that occurred from Sept. 6 through Sept. 10, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous North Carolina counties of Bertie, Bladen, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Lenoir, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Scotland, Wake, Wayne, and Wilson, along with Dillon, Horry, and Marlboro counties in South Carolina, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Sept. 14, 2020.  FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.