First Flight’s journalists take home honors

By on June 21, 2020

Nighthawk News

Six yearbook and newspaper students and adviser Steve Hanf participated in the recent online journalism camp offered through the NC Scholastic Media Association out of Chapel Hill.

June graduate Emmy Trivette, who served as co-Editor-in-Chief of Nighthawk News this past school year, received her $1,000 scholarship from the North Carolina Press Foundation for being named an alternate in the NCSMA Journalist of the Year competition. Trivette’s portfolio was among four in the state recognized with the scholarship, marking the fourth straight year an FFHS student has either won or placed in the competition.

In addition, adviser Steve Hanf received NCSMA’s Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award after serving as the NCSMA Advisers Association president this past year and teaching at various NCSMA journalism workshops throughout his teaching career.

Students combined to win numerous individual awards in the statewide media contest. Nighthawk News Magazine and each earned Tar Heel awards as among the best high school publications in the state.

  • Taylor Newton – first place Newspaper cover design, first place Newspaper feature photo, third place Newspaper sports photo
  • Kayla Hallac – first place Newspaper personality profile; honorable mention Newspaper sports story
  • Madison Murry – honorable mention Yearbook theme copy; honorable mention Yearbook feature spread design
  • Camden Crook – first place Newspaper sports article
  • Kate Hamilton – second place Newspaper sports story
  • Noah Kinnisten – second place Newspaper sports column
  • Emmy Trivette – second place Newspaper video
  • Acy Davis – third place Yearbook sports copy
  • Macey Haynes – third place Yearbook sports spread design
  • Cassie Honeycutt – honorable mention Newspaper news story



Nighthawk News Magazine – All-North Carolina, Tar Heel Award

First Place – Advertising, Features, News
Second Place – Design
Third Place – Photography, Editorial – All-North Carolina, Tar Heel Award

First Place – News, Features
Second Place – Editorial, Sports, Design
Third Place – Photography
Honorable Mention – Advertising

Shorelines Yearbook – Distinction (there were no section contests this year for yearbook)


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Join the discussion