Results of Jan. 20 conference swim meet; FFHS swimmers take first place

By on January 27, 2023

First Flight High School Women won the conference swim meet on January 20 in Elizabeth City.
First Flight High School Men won the conference swim meet on January 20 in Elizabeth City
Manteo Swim Team. Manteo women finished second and Manteo men finished sixth..
First Flight's Maura Trivette Women’s NECC Conference Swimmer of the Year.
Currituck's Logan Kennemore, Male NECC Conference Swimmer of the Year (center) and winner of the 400 Free with Ben Hanusik (Manteo) second and Jack Brown (First flight) third.
Women’s 100 Breaststroke: Langley Curry (FFHS) 2nd; Gwen Benkusky (MHS) 1st place; Cameron Piland 3rd place.
200 Free: 2nd place Jack Brown (FFHS); 1st place Ben Hanusik (MHS); 3rd place Jack Spivey (FFHS)
200 IM: 2nd place Laney Dexter (FFHS); 1st place Meredith Gaskill (MHS); 3rd place Francesca Mueller (MHS).
previous arrow
next arrow

First Flight High School women and men both won the conference swim meet on Friday, Jan. 20 in Elizabeth City. Manteo women finished second, and Currituck women finished fourth. Currituck men finished second, and Manteo men finished sixth.

Maura Trivette (FF) won Conference Women’s Swimmer of the Year. Logan Kennemore (C) won Conference Men’s Swimmer of the Year. Susan Buzzard  (C) was named Conference Coach of the Year for the Men’s Team. Dave Tonnesen (FF) was named Conference Coach of the Year for the Women’s Team.

 First Flight highlights:

Maura Trivette and Logan Thiessen each won two individual events. Other first place finishers were Kira Walters, Laney Dexter, Dylan Hallac and Noah Savage.  Winning relay swimmers include Lana Walters, Hayden Hall, Maura Trivette, Kira Walters, Laney Dexter and Chloe Wienert, Jack Brown, Will Robinson, Logan Thiessen, Dylan Hallac, Jack Spivey and Thomas McGraw.

Other swimmers who scored in individual events were:  Schuyler Wilson, Allison Roper, Langley Curry, Saylor Willis, Cameron Piland, Daven Corey and Josh Mouser.

Manteo highlights:

Gwyneth Benkusky and Meredith Gaskill each won two individual event. Ben Hanusik won one event. Winning relay swimmers include Meredith Gaskill, Gwyneth, Isabella Alexander, Francesca Mueller (200 medley).

Other swimmers who scored in individual events were Francesca Mueller, Amelia Foti, Carlee Pramore, Sterling Wright, Isabella Alexander, Landon Creamer, Benjamion Hanusik,  and Sterling Wright.

Currituck Highlights:

Logan Kennemore won one individual event. Other swilmmers who scored in individual events were Logan Kennemore, Brooke Bincarowsky, Alex Seamster, Nolan Waugh, Jake McClanan, Alexis Martine, Emily Anderson, Hayden Noerr, Anabelle O’Donnell, Eli Buzzard. Camden Lenz, Emma Frierdich, Brooklyn Stratton, Bryce Hobbs and Hannah Mason.




Notice of Public Auction

The public will take notice that the Dare County Tourism Board, at its meeting of October 20, 2022, adopted Resolution 2022-5 authorizing the sale of surplus personal property by public auction.

Saturday, April 1, 2023.

6708 S. Croatan Highway

Nags Head, NC 27959

10am: Back of the House Auction – Complete Commercial Kitchen

Partial List: True refrigerators and coolers, Hatco drawer warmers, Hobart mixer, Vulcan, 6 & 10 burner gas ovens/stoves, Vulcan 2 basket gas fryer, Vulcan 2-door oven, stainless prep tables, DCS 6 burner LPAS range & oven, Hobart dishwasher, pots & pans & more.

2pm: Front of the House Auction – Selling Everything in the Building + Architectural Salvage by room

Partial List: Antique ships wheel chandelier, Nautical & pirate decor, sword & pistol displays, polyword tables & chairs, ship models, nautical lanterns, art, commercial bar equipment, tables and chairs, NC decoys, fish mounts, signal cannon, architectural salvage, Several bars, pirate bar & more.

Preview 3/31: 11 AM – 5 PM & Auction Day starting @ 9am
Online Absentee Bidding Catalog Closes: 3/31 @ 8pm
Catalog + Thousands of photos @ SSAOBX.HIBID.COM
Island Auction Co. (252)489-5513 – Jason P. Humphries, Auctioneer NCAL #8423
Visa / MC / Cash / Good Check – NC Sales Tax, 15% Buyers Premium

Comments are closed.