Dare County elections on Tuesday, Nov. 7

By on November 5, 2023


Here’s what to know as you head to the polls

Tuesday, Nov. 7 is Election Day in Dare County with local races in all six municipalities. Here is a listing of the candidates on the ballot and the towns they are running in.


In Duck, where all five town council seats are up for grabs this fall, four incumbents are seeking re-elections, two challengers are making a bid for the council and one incumbent is not seeking another term.

The council incumbents running again include Mayor Don Kingston, Monica Thibodeau, Sandy Whitman and Rob Mooney. The challengers are Kevin Lingard and Bren Chasen. (In Duck, the mayor is chosen by the town council.) The one incumbent who did not file for re-election is Anthony Schiano.

Kill Devil Hills

Three of the five seats on the board of commissioners, including the one now filled by Mayor Ben Sproul, are in play. In the mayor’s election, Sproul faces incumbent Commissioner John Windley.

Incumbents B.J. McAvoy and Ivy Ingram have filed to run again, and newcomer Michael Denny has also tossed his hat in the ring.

If Sproul were to defeat Windley for mayor, Windley could serve out the rest of his term, which ends in 2025, as commissioner. In Windley is victorious, the board of commissioners selects someone to fill the remainder of his term as commissioner.

Kitty Hawk

In this town, two of the five council seats are up for grabs. Incumbent David Hines is running again, but the other incumbent, Lynne McClean, will not seek re-election. The two other candidates who have filed to run for the council are Dylan Tillett and Ron Tumolo.


There will be a crowded ballot in Manteo, the other town that features a mayoral contest, one between Incumbent Bobby Owens and his challenger, Town Commissioner Sherry Wickstrom, whose term on the board is not over until 2025. As in Kill Devil Hills, if Owens defeats Wickstrom, she can serve out the rest of her term as commissioner. If she wins, the board will select her replacement.

Three other members of the seven-member board of commissioners are also up for re-election. Incumbents Darrell Collins, Tod Clissold and Betty Selby have all filed to run. They will be competing with Hannah Forslund, Michelle Lewis and Jason Borland, who also vying to be elected to the board.

Nags Head

In Nags Head, two of the five seats on the board of commissioners are on the ballot this fall. Incumbent Kevin Brinkley is running for another term, but the other incumbent, Renee Cahoon, did not file to run for re-election. The challengers for seats on the board are Megan Lambert, Keith Sawyer, and T-Mike Morrison.

Southern Shores

In Southern Shores, three of the five incumbents on the Town Council are up for re-election. Of them, Mark Batenic and Matthew Neal will be on the ballot. Incumbent Leo Holland will not seek another term. The other candidates seeking seats on the board are Robert Neilsen and Mike Guarracino.

Voters will be asked to present a valid photo identification when voting in person. 

If you do not have a valid photo ID card on Election Day, you may still vote and have your vote counted by signing an affidavit of reasonable impediment (or “Photo ID Exception Form”) as to why you have not presented a valid photo ID. The Exception Form can also be used if you have a religious objection to being photographed or are a victim of a recently declared natural disaster.

As an alternative, if you don’t have your ID when you vote, you can still vote and then bring your valid photo ID to your county board of elections by 5 p.m. on the ninth day after Election Day.

Polling places are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at Duck Town Hall in Duck, Kill Devil Hills Town Hall in KDH, Kitty Hawk Town Hall in Kitty Hawk, the Dare County Administration Building in Manteo, the Nags Head Town Hall Meeting Building in Nags Head and the Pitts Center in Southern Shores.

For more coverage of local election see our Election 2023 page and visit Dare County Elections page.


Barnhill Building Group has been selected as the Construction Manager @ Risk by the College of the Albemarle and is seeking to pre-qualify construction trade contractors to submit bids for the furnishing labor, materials, equipment, and tools for the new College of The Albemarle – Allied Health Sciences Simulation Lab (COA Health Sciences) located in Elizabeth City, NC. Please note: Only subcontractors who have been prequalified by Barnhill will be able to submit a Bid.

The project consists of the new construction of a 38,000-sf, 2-story expansion to the existing Owens Health Sciences Center and will house classrooms, labs, and a simulation lab. The site is just over just over 4.5 acres and is located on an active campus. This new construction will be a steel structure with a brick and metal panel veneer, curtainwall, and storefront glazing with a PVC roof membrane.

Principal trade and specialty contractors are solicited for the following Bid Packages:

BP0100: General Trades

BP0105: Final Cleaning

BP0390: Turnkey Concrete

BP0400: Turnkey Masonry

BP0500: Structural Steel & Misc. Steel

BP0740: Roofing

BP0750: Metal Panels

BP0790: Caulking / Caulking

BP0800: Turnkey Doors/Frames/Hardware

BP0840: Glass & Glazing

BP0925: Drywall

BP0960: Resilient Flooring

BP0980: Acoustical Ceilings

BP0990: Painting & Wallcovering

BP1005: Toilet Specialties / Accessories / Division 10

BP1010: Signage

BP1098: Demountable Partitions

BP1230: Finish Carpentry and Casework

BP1250: Window Treatment

BP1400: Elevators

BP2100: Fire Protection

BP2200: Plumbing

BP2300: HVAC

BP2600: Turnkey Electrical

BP3100: Turnkey Sitework

BP3290: Landscaping

Packages may be added and/or deleted at the discretion of the Construction Manager. Historically underutilized business firms are encouraged to complete participation submittals.

HUB/MWBE OUTREACH MEETING: Barnhill Building Group will be conducting a HUB/MWBE Informational Session. You are encouraged to attend the following session to learn more about project participation opportunities available to you. These seminars will help to: Learn about project and scope; Inform and train Minority/HUB contractors in preparation for bidding this project; Assist in registration on the State of North Carolina Vendor link; Stimulate opportunities for Networking with other firms. Location and time TBD. Please visit our planroom at https://app.buildingconnected.com/public/54da832ce3edb5050017438b for more information.

Interested contractors should submit their completed prequalification submittals, by July 22, 2024, to Meredith Terrell at mterrell@barnhillcontracting.com or hardcopies can be mailed to Barnhill Contracting Company PO Box 31765 Raleigh, NC 27622 (4325 Pleasant Valley Road, NC 27612).


See what people are saying:

  • catfish27954

    Dear Manteo candidates, I live on Airport Rd, well beyond the town limit. Why are there so many yard signs on US 64 and on Airport Rd? I can’t vote in your election and if I could I wouldn’t vote for any of you who have placed your signs north of Harriot St. What’s next a town property tax bill? Stop littering the north end!

    Tuesday, Nov 7 @ 2:11 pm