Stories in Election2022

Report: Hanig protest moves to NC Elections Board

The Daily Advance of Elizabeth City has reported that the Aug. 23 Currituck County hearing on Bobby Hanig’s effort to remove his NC Senate opponent Valerie Jordan from the fall ballot ended with the matter being moved to the state level. Full story

Aug 23

Hanig to fill remainder of Steinburg’s NC Senate term

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice | Bobby Hanig, who until now had represented District 6 in the NC House, received good news on two fronts this week in his efforts to be elected the NC State Senator from District 3 this fall. Full story

Aug 19

Hanig’s protest against Jordan moves forward

Update: The Currituck County Board of Elections found on Aug. 17 that Hanig’s protest to remove Jordan from the ballot substantially complied with NCGS Section 163-189.2, and there is probable cause to believe a violation of election law occurred. Full story

Aug 16

Steinburg’s exit triggers game of seat shifting

Hanig, O’Neal seek appointment to Raleigh vacancies By Kip Tabb | Outer Banks Voice After losing to Republican State Senator Norm Sanderson in the May 17 primary for the newly redrawn Senate District 1, State Senator Bob Steinburg of Chowan County, announced earlier this month that he would be resigning his Senate seat effective July 31. Full story

Jul 28

Two unaffiliated Dare Ed Board candidates make ballot

By Michelle Wagner | Outer Banks Voice The Dare County Board of Elections has certified the petitions of the two unaffiliated candidates seeking to run for a seat on the Dare County Board of Education in the November election, according to the candidates. Full story

Jun 5

Unaffiliated Ed Board candidates await their fate

Dare elections officials to review signatures from Russell and Fearns By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice Aside from being Primary Election Day, Tuesday May 17 was also the deadline for two unaffiliated Dare County Board of Education hopefuls to submit enough signatures to qualify for the November ballot. Full story

May 18

Bateman, Sanderson, Cruden, Moreland win primaries

Gaskins to face Murphy in 3rd Congressional District contest By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice Incumbent Dare County Commissioner Ervin Bateman turned back a Republican challenger while the county’s current state senator, Bob Steinburg, was defeated in a redrawn district in the May 17 Republican primary election. At the same time, two Dare County Republicans were defeated a three-way race to become a District 1 Judge. Full story

May 18

Four GOP candidates challenge Murphy in 3rd Congressional District primary

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice Four candidates are challenging incumbent Third District Congressman Greg Murphy in the Republican primary to be held on March 17. Full story

May 16

Gaskins and Swartz compete in Democratic primary for Third District seat in Congress

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice Two Democrats who are newcomers in elective politics, and who don’t have a lot else in common, are competing in the primary for the U.S. Third Congressional District seat currently held by Republican Greg Murphy. Full story

May 16

Bland, McAvoy and Moreland compete in Republican primary for District 1 Judge

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice There are three candidates in Republican primary race for a District 1 District Court Judge’s seat. They are Jennifer Bland, who has held the post since last September after being appointed by Governor Roy Cooper; Kill Devil Hills attorney and Town Commissioner Bernard (B.J.) McAvoy; and Hertford attorney and District 1 Assistant District Attorney Jeffrey Moreland. Full story

May 15

NC Senate incumbents Steinburg and Sanderson face off in District 1 GOP primary

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice Two incumbent North Carolina State Senators, Bob Steinburg and Norman Sanderson, are competing in the Republican primary for the reconfigured District 1 State Senate seat that includes Dare County and contains constituents from both of their current districts. Full story

May 14

Hege challenges Kidwell in Republican primary for NC House District 79 seat

By Mark Jurkowitz | Outer Banks Voice In the Republican primary race for a reconfigured NC House District 79, Edwin Hege is challenging incumbent Keith Kidwell for a seat that now represents the southern part of Dare County, with the dividing line running through Kill Devil Hills. Full story

May 12